PDA

View Full Version : Why Dual Boot?

Cycledoc
August 24th, 2012, 04:53 PM
I have been playing with Ubuntu and variations for a few years now. Currently using 12.04 on a Dell XPS 15 dual booted with Windows 7. No real problems but I made several minor adjustments to meet my personal needs.

But I can't seem to give up Windows 7 for two major and one minor reasons. The first is the inability to get Overdrive Media Console to work, I use it to download audio books from my library. The second is the inability sync my ipod touch ios 4.2.1 easily. (tried rhythmbox, banshee and others without luck). The third is less serious because I have other ways of streaming, is Ubuntu's/linux's not working with Netflix streaming.

I have no problems with the Ubuntu interface, I'm growing comfortable with unity and it is a very quick responsive system. Still I need to dual boot and therein lies the problem for Ubuntu (in my case) and why it won't for the foreseeable future be my only system and may have difficulty getting market share if Windows 8 is the bust that everyone expects.

If anyone has a solution to the above issues I'm all ears.

Many thanks

Mark Phelps
August 24th, 2012, 07:13 PM
The problems you mentioned (among others) is why many of us continue to dual-boot and will so, for the future.

As to Win8 and market share, success or bust, that will have no effect on Ubuntu usage.

Lisiano
August 24th, 2012, 07:35 PM
You could try to use Wine to run Overdrive Media Console.
I don't use Apple products so I can't help with syncing.
Netflix won't work and so it seems they will never support Linux due to them wanting to have DRM.

If your system is powerful enough, you could try running Windows in VMware (Paid) or in VirtualBox (Free). You could do all 3 things in a VM.