PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Easy Question! - Permissions Related

nuclearj
August 21st, 2012, 05:24 AM
Hello, I just installed 12.04 64bit Server and also installed NFSv4 and can mount the share/export. However, I cannot write anything to it.

The folder properties say that I am not the owner so I cannot change the permissions. Which I tried with one of those chmods... this just hit me, should I have started with a chown?

I'm a not a complete noob. More like a hack and slash, shotgun, spaghetti on the wall kinda linux user... I hope that communicates. Thanks!

LHammonds
August 21st, 2012, 07:51 AM
Anytime I create files/folders, I make sure the permissions are correct.

1st - I set ownership if necessary using chown
2nd - I set permissions using chmod
3rd - I make sure the stuff is in the correct logical locations

Also, when mounting file systems or sharing folders, make sure the mount point is mounted like you think it should. If you are expecting write/delete access, do not mount it as read-only because no matter what permissions/rights you have, you cannot modify a read-only access point unless you re-mount it as not read-only.

LHammonds

nuclearj
August 21st, 2012, 07:07 PM
Ok I will try that out tonight. Another question, Do I set the folder ownership permissions from within the server via ssh? Or do I set the permissions on the server from the client side?

sandyd
August 21st, 2012, 07:28 PM
Hello, I just installed 12.04 64bit Server and also installed NFSv4 and can mount the share/export. However, I cannot write anything to it.

The folder properties say that I am not the owner so I cannot change the permissions. Which I tried with one of those chmods... this just hit me, should I have started with a chown?

I'm a not a complete noob. More like a hack and slash, shotgun, spaghetti on the wall kinda linux user... I hope that communicates. Thanks!
What are you NFSing to?