PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Backup and restore MySQL innoDB databases

Tac2
August 19th, 2012, 11:01 AM
Hi everyone.

I recently setup a Ubuntu 12.04 LAMP Server at home that I use to develop websites in corporation with clients. I've been using Ubuntu and other Linux distros for a few years, but I am new to servers and have been learning a lot. Especially about MySQL as I know nothing about it.

I am currently in the process of refining/rethinking my backup procedure, and I am having a problem figuring out how to backup the MySQL database, and I hope you can help me.

Both the MySQL data directory (/var/lib/mysql) and Apache root directory (/var/apache2) reside on /var, which is a LVM Logical Volume. What I want to do is take a snapshot of /var, mount this snapshot in another directory and use rsnapshot to backup /var/lib/mysql and /var/apache2 (as well as /var/log, etc). The snapshot should insure that the MySQL data directory and Apache root directory are in sync.

However, the backup of /var/lib/mysql is not going to do me any good unless the database has written everything to disk. I use the default Ubuntu implementation of MySQL which means it uses InnoDB as storage engine. In some places*, people say that it is safe to simply copy the /var/lib/mysql directory (just need to flush tables with read lock) as InnoDB always keeps the files in a consistent state. In other places**, people say that it is only safe to copy the files if mysqld is completely stopped.

* http://forums.mysql.com/read.php?22,184681,184700#msg-184700

** http://www.pythian.com/news/22185/mysql-backup-concepts-for-linux-system-administrators-part-1/