PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] OwnCloud PHP GD Errors on 10.04



daryl314
August 15th, 2012, 04:02 AM
Hello,

I am trying to get OwnCloud running on Ubuntu Server 10.04. I installed the php5-gd package and restarted Apache, but I am still getting a "PHP module GD is not installed" error. If I run a test case, it shows that GD is installed using the same logic that OwnCloud appears to use to detect it in lib/util.php (as the code snippet below returns "GD is installed"). Anyone have an idea of how to fix this?



echo '<?php if(function_exists("imagepng")){echo "GD is installed\n";}else{echo "GD is not installed\n";} ?>' | php


Thanks,
Daryl

SeijiSensei
August 15th, 2012, 04:07 AM
Create a page in the website directory with just this line of code:


<?php phpinfo()?>

and view it with your browser. If the module has loaded correctly, you'll see a section of the resulting page that lists the module and its defined parameters.

slooksterpsv
August 15th, 2012, 04:09 AM
You can also try restarting Apache just to make sure it's loading everything:


sudo apache2ctl restart

daryl314
August 16th, 2012, 11:52 AM
Create a page in the website directory with just this line of code:


<?php phpinfo()?>

and view it with your browser. If the module has loaded correctly, you'll see a section of the resulting page that lists the module and its defined parameters.

I don't see any information showing up about the GD module in the info page. Is there something else I need to do in addition to installing it (apt-get install php5-gd) and restarting Apache? For some reason function_exists("imagepng") returns true.

"gd" also shows up in the list when I run "php -m"

SeijiSensei
August 16th, 2012, 02:04 PM
The command-line version of php is independent of the php module for Apache, so it won't give you the correct answer.

On my system, the file /etc/php5/apache2/conf.d/gd.ini contains the following code to activate the module:



; configuration for php GD module
extension=gd.so


Does that file exist on your server? If not, try just creating it manually, then restart apache, and see if that helps.

daryl314
August 16th, 2012, 11:06 PM
Creating gd.so worked for me. For some reason it wasn't installed with php5-gd.

Thanks!