PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mounting Drives from external HDD

upalipsu
August 11th, 2012, 03:55 AM
Hello everyone. I am a first time Ubuntu and Linux user, however I have a yearning to learn the art of machine talk.

I would like to fist explain that I got so fed up with windows that I ran killdisk and clean installed Ubuntu 12.04. I don't plan on turning back. However, I am a traditional animation student attending college and have many files marooned on my Synology DS211+ external HDD. With windows I had run the Synology Assistant software packaged with the product, and it worked nicely.

My goal is to get a version of FTP working that can stream and edit files to my laptop like the mounted normal drives on windows (without having to renter credentials on each login).

Oddly enough, the fellows at Synology included a shell script in their Install Disk.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1140403/
... along with some instructions on how to install the assistant.
http://paste.ubuntu.com/1140404/

I connected the device via Ethernet to the computer. A reoccurring notification tab on the right of the main screen heralds "Wired network (and directly below reads) Disconnected"

As I said before, I'm quite new to this (began learning about sed today) and have absolutely no idea what I'm doing. I've managed to ask around on the #Ubuntu-beginners IRC channel, yet nothing much came to light. When I ran the script in the terminal it opened and closed immediately. I'd really appreciate a helping hand. Some of my main questions are:

1) Is the code provided by Synology for server versions of Linux? If so, is it possible to run this script in GUI?

2) If the Synology code offered is incompatible with a desktop version of Ubuntu 12.04, is it possible (and if so, how) to connect and map normal drives to the disk station with FileZilla?

3) Will the files be accessible to a Ubuntu OS?

Below are some additional details pertaining to the DiskDrive unit:

IP Status: DHCP
RAID II