PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Difficulty connecting to Windows PC

JohnTho
August 3rd, 2012, 11:15 PM
Hi,
I've posted this in the absolute beginners section rather than the Networking one because although I have worked with computers in one form or another since the mid 70's I am new to Linux and I'm struggling with some of the issues it's raised. I apologise in advance for this rather lengthy and rambling post.

I cut my teeth on command-line OS's, starting with DEC DOS and RT11, CP/M, the ubiquitous MS-DOS and VAX VMS and even dabbled briefly with Unix. It's many years now since I had to use these skills and with the advent of the GUI I've become lazy :). Unfortunately I didn't garner enough experience with Unix to help me get to grips with Linux.

Anyway, out of boredom with Microsoft I decided to put together a linux-based system so have got hold of a secondhand, but well specced, desktop machine and installed 12.04 LTS on it. I got it up and running without too many problems (I have some other threads running here regarding some of the issues) but I seem to have hit a wall when it comes to trying to get it to connect reliably to my main desktop PC which is running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. I have established a network connection and successfully transferred several GB of files. I've also configured a network printer and printed a test page. In fact it wasn't until I tried to set this printer up, when Ubuntu reported that it needed Samba and installed it, that I was able to get the two macines to connect.

The trouble is the network connection isn't reliable. Sometimes the Windows machine can see the Linux one when the Linux one can't see the Windows one, sometimes it's the other way round. As long as one of them can see the other I find Ican transfer files but after I've been working on the Linux box for a while the connection inevitably disappears from both and then I have to cold boot the Linux box to get it back.