PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] rebooted after 400 days....now stuck in GrubLand

platinumwhitty
August 3rd, 2012, 08:20 AM
So I am a new administrator at an ISP and Ubuntu is used on the servers. Needed to reboot the machines so file checking could happen and new kernel would load.

OH CRAP!!!

Now it either says File not Found for 10.04 Kernel 2.6.32-22-server

OR

for 10.04 Kernel 2.6.24-27-server it complains about an LVM volume being degraded and drops to BusyBox

I have read the forums but still stumped but learned enough to know I needed to attach results from boot info script!

I have a similar machine that I can still get to and it says it is running Ubuntu 10.04.1 Kernel 2.6.32-24-server and another running 2.6.32-28.

I think this is either a Grub (0.97) or LVM or combination issue that is probably fixable but I am not in possession of the knowledge to do so.

I would appreciate any help and will provide any additional requested information about the system that I am able to get.

Thanks!

darkod
August 3rd, 2012, 08:41 AM
I know you said you are new so you probably won't be able to answer some questions, but we have to ask. I see many confusing things in the results, but not sure I have all the answers too.

So, under the assumption the bootinfo script created the results correctly:

1. On the /dev/sda disk you seem to have grub1 and 10.04 LTS installed with LVM. 10.04 LTS is coming with grub2, but this might have been removed if someone wanted to use grub1. Or the 10.04 was an upgrade from 8.04 and they didn't upgrade grub on purpose.

2. The menu.lst on /dev/sda1 is looking for kernel 2.6.32-22 which doesn't exist on the /dev/sda disk (look at the list of boot files, it lists many kernels present but not that one).