PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] can't print - Lucid Lynx - cursor remains on doc pages - scanner not hooked to comput

desertoasis
August 2nd, 2012, 08:06 PM
I'm about the most absolute newbie to Linux you will ever see.

I had so much trouble with Windows, though I loved XP, that I went to the library, checked out a book about Lucid Lynx 10.04 and made a dual boot. It's been wonderful, BUT a steep learning curve FOR ME. Nobody else I suspect. I do my own maintenance, and cannot really depend on anybody locally to help. Just so you know. :popcorn:

Now then, I had to go out and buy a new printer, since none of the older ones were compatible with drivers, etc. I bought a HP4620 because HP supports linux drivers. It has worked fine except for two things, the oldest one being that though I followed the directions so far as I know that came (manual, etc.) with the all-in-one, the computer does not recognize the USB port connection. Not sure if it's a linux problem or HP problem. Have posted at HP, but nothing has come of it.

The second, later, but more serious problem, is this. I was printing away and things were going well, when it stopped printing. The jobs are in the queue, but they do not print. Often they say processing. In addition, and this might be a BIG clue, when I cut and paste a doc, I cannot get the cursor to go away. If I save the doc or whatever, it does not print. It may have an easy solution, but I don't know what it is. I checked with some of the replies to similar problems, but they don't seem to help.

Right now it says not connect, but when I check it says "connected to localhost" - so I am mystified.

Long post, but I thought it was better to try every thing. I checked
system -> administration -> printing

It is all okay. I've checked and rechecked all physical connections. All okay

irv
August 2nd, 2012, 08:22 PM
Lets start by cleaning things up.
First, go to your print Q and delete all the print jobs.