PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installer won't go past second screen!

Mrubernub
August 1st, 2012, 10:08 PM
I can boot from CD, the desktop shows fine.

The only problem is when I try to install, after pressing continue on the second screen, it is just stuck on the loading cursor!
I've been searching for about 3 hours, and I haven't found any solution yet.

I'm a total noob at Linux, so please keep the answer noob-friendly :)

I have also tried to install Linux-mint, but I get some kind of "Kernel panic" message.

Thanks in advance, dying to try out Linux <.< so tired of Windows :)

Edit:
I have tried to tick the following:
noapic
nolapic
nomodeset

Still wont install.

Mrubernub
August 1st, 2012, 11:13 PM
Comeon, im dying to install linux :/

audiomick
August 1st, 2012, 11:40 PM
I can't help you, I think, but I would suggest telling us about your machine. Put some specs up. It might help someone to help you. A few more specifics about exactly how you went about trying to install might help too.

A word to the wise, also: it is considered polite to wait a day or so before bumping your threads. ;)

Mrubernub
August 2nd, 2012, 12:02 AM
I can't help you, I think, but I would suggest telling us about your machine. Put some specs up. It might help someone to help you. A few more specifics about exactly how you went about trying to install might help too.

A word to the wise, also: it is considered polite to wait a day or so before bumping your threads. ;)

Ah, sorry.

I can't tell the computer specs atm as I have no way of getting them. All I know is that the machine was an old winxp home edition, from like 2003.

NikTh
August 2nd, 2012, 12:03 AM
A word to the wise, also: it is considered polite to wait a day or so before bumping your threads.

+1

Hi ,

Also try to burn a usb instead of CD . Try unetbootin program --> http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/

If you want CD , I suggest to burn it again in the Lower speed (its sensitive data)