PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] SSH Cluster Server

Anvil 31
July 28th, 2012, 05:24 PM
Hello, I found the other threads to be too complex.

My question is how would I go setting up multiple servers on one physical server?

I want to setup ten game servers using OpenSHH and puTTY on one physical server to host my video game servers, do I need to use CSSH?

I already made one server on there, but how would i got an putting 10?
Do I need to give different ports to each individual server?

darkod
July 28th, 2012, 09:34 PM
I have no experience with any SSH Clusters, if that's what they are called, but if you want multiple servers on one physical machine, isn't that virtualization you are talking about?

CharlesA
July 29th, 2012, 12:02 AM
Virtualization would be the way to go.

BkkBonanza
July 29th, 2012, 01:00 AM
Yes, you could look at OpenVZ (http://wiki.openvz.org/Main_Page) as it has low overhead and is easy to setup and have large numbers of virtual servers on one machine. There also some web based control panels for it too.

Once setup you can make an install script and then run it in each of the servers from the host command line using a for loop to count thru each server.

Is there some advantage to having lots of little game servers on a machine vs. one main game server?

CharlesA
July 29th, 2012, 01:26 AM
Is there some advantage to having lots of little game servers on a machine vs. one main game server?

Outside of separation of services, I do not believe there is any benefit.

Anvil 31
July 29th, 2012, 08:12 PM
Is there any other ways? and what are the pros and cons?

I also would love to know how to set it up :)

But, please I'm new to Ubuntu server, so is it possible if you can make it easier? please?

Lars Noodén
July 29th, 2012, 08:39 PM
In addition to OpenVZ, there would also be VirtualBox (http://packages.ubuntu.com/precise/virtualbox).