PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How To Get GNOME Desktop Working?

DoctorVarney
July 9th, 2012, 08:36 PM
Just up and running with Ubuntu.

I have downloaded the GNOME Desktop through the Ubuntu Software Centre ('centre spelled in English for once... wow!') and now I'm scratching my head, wondering where it is and what to do next...

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please note, I really am a beginner, so please feel free to dump an idiots guide on me, I won't be offended. I'm still learning the ropes here!

Basher101
July 9th, 2012, 08:39 PM
It is not enough to install it through the software center, as you will be missing some packages.

you will need to add a repository
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:gnome3-team/gnome3
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install gnome-shell

i advise you also install the gnome-tweak tool
sudo apt-get install gnome-tweak-tool

this should get you a working Gnome 3 shell desktop environment

regards

p.s. if you want to install Themes, make sure they are for version 3.4 as older ones won't work correctly (or at all)

DoctorVarney
July 9th, 2012, 08:44 PM
Thank you!

When copy and pasting those commands, can I lump them together or must I enter each line individually?

And thanks for the advice on themes.

deadflowr
July 9th, 2012, 08:47 PM
I can't really help you beyond this little tidbit, but when it is installed simply log out and in the login screen in box the where your name and password is is a little ubuntu or cog icon in the top right corner, click it and choose whichever desktop you would like to try.

In an aside, if my fonts are coming up weird, I'm currently running a Kubuntu install, and I forgot that I messed around with the default font setting, and as such I really don't know what they might look like, or if they're rendering normally on this page. But they seem fine.

Basher101
July 9th, 2012, 08:51 PM
Thank you!

When copy and pasting those commands, can I lump them together or must I enter each line individually?