PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Seagate FreeAgent Destop External HDD is only accessible in Ubuntu and not in Windows

QMarshall
July 9th, 2012, 07:12 PM
I'm a beginner and have only been using Ubuntu Linux for a year now. My Seagate FreeAgent Desktop 500GB External HDD was accessible in both Ubuntu Linux and Windows before but after the upgraded to Ubuntu 11.04 it's only accessible in Ubuntu and not Windows and I don't know How to fix this because I also need to use it with Windows.

MichaelGld
July 9th, 2012, 07:15 PM
I'm a beginner and have only been using Ubuntu Linux for a year now. My Seagate FreeAgent Desktop 500GB External HDD was accessible in both Ubuntu Linux and Windows before but after the upgraded to Ubuntu 11.04 it's only accessible in Ubuntu and not Windows and I don't know How to fix this because I also need to use it with Windows.

Check the filesystem on the device. Windows cannot see any of the native Linux filesystems, such as ext3 or ext4. If that's the case, copy all your files to other media then reformat the drive to ntfs.

QMarshall
July 9th, 2012, 07:35 PM
How do I check the filesystems?

MichaelGld
July 9th, 2012, 08:24 PM
How do I check the filesystems?

One way is to run Disk Utility. On the left side under Storage Devices, click on the drive in question. Then on the right part of the screen about halfway down is a graphical representation of your partitions. In there it will tell you what filesystem is in use.

QMarshall
July 10th, 2012, 07:03 PM
While checking what filesystem is in use I got this feedback:

Error checking filesystem on volume

An error occured while performing an operation on "Vincent External" (Partition 1 of Seagate FreeAgentDesktop): The device is busy

Details
Device is mounted and no online capability in fsck tool for file system

What does all this mean and how do I do now?

MichaelGld
July 10th, 2012, 09:07 PM