PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Messed up partition need to add windows again

scottau74
July 9th, 2012, 03:58 PM
I am extremely new to ubuntu and to linux as a whole. sadly there are many programs that i wish i could use but am unable because they are not supported on ubuntu. The person that did the partition messed everything up so there is only the unallocated and ext4 and i am unable to do anything. i have a copy of windows but my drive need reformatted to ntfs. i am very new to things such as this so i will need it to be dumbed down as far as possible.

AlbertJB
July 9th, 2012, 04:09 PM
First of all, take it easy.

Secondly, almost every application in Windows have its counterpart or equivalent in Ubuntu.. maybe not as user-friendly some of them, but at least are open source.

Third point is: there's an app called Wine which allows you to run Windows apps under Ubuntu. If you are still interested, there are many tutorials on how to configure it.

Finally, if you really don't want to migrate to Ubuntu or Linux in general and keep to Microsoft products, you have also the option of get your copy of Windows (a DVD maybe) and follow the steps in order to format the hard drive to NTFS or whatever the filesystem you want to work with on Windows.

I think nowadays it's not that hard to install Ubuntu, and plus you could have a dual boot Ubuntu - Windows with 2 different physical partitions, or even run Ubuntu inside Windows with a virtual machine to test it.

It's just my humble point of view of course, I am a newbie too.

SirWhy
July 9th, 2012, 04:17 PM
I think nowadays it's not that hard to install Ubuntu, and plus you could have a dual boot Ubuntu - Windows with 2 different physical partitions, or even run Ubuntu inside Windows with a virtual machine to test it.

I highly recommend creating a virtual machine to test out Ubuntu first on windows. See if you like the thing.