PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ipv6 on ubuntu when ISP has native ipv6 capability

luvs
July 9th, 2012, 02:21 PM
Not a lot out there on what one has to do to get ipv6 to work in ubuntu when one's ISP is ipv6 native. I appreciate any help with this. As it is, I am just getting started with this and cannot ping6 any sites as of yet.

luvs

Kopkins
July 9th, 2012, 02:32 PM
I use a package called miredo, but it's a tunneling program. It tunnels ipv6 through ipv4. I'm unsure if my ISP is native supported. You can give it a shot if you'd like.

sudo apt-get install miredoI can ping6 ipv6 sites.

ping6 ipv6.google.comKopkins

miegiel
July 9th, 2012, 02:35 PM
Not a lot out there on what one has to do to get ipv6 to work in ubuntu when one's ISP is ipv6 native. I appreciate any help with this. As it is, I am just getting started with this and cannot ping6 any sites as of yet.

luvs

I have no IPv6 experience yet, but after booting it says in my log (/var/log/syslog) the following:

Jul 9 07:22:48 machine kernel: [ 124.432041] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
Which implies to me that IPv6 should work out of the box, as long as the connecting hardware at home (modem, router, bridge, wifi AP, what ever) support IPv6 too.

lemming465
July 11th, 2012, 07:48 PM