PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] cannot boot new install of ubuntu 12.04

cyphoyd
July 9th, 2012, 03:50 AM
So I've dabbled with some success with Linux over the years but I'm still a newb. I got Ubuntu 12.04 desktop on a boot disktop and installed it in ever configuration I could dream of and can't get it to boot. I've allowed the installer to configure the partitions and hand selected the partitions. I've used the efi partition and installed without it and tried putting the boot loader on sda1 and on a totally sepporate partition(not the efi partition). Nothing works. Grub2 does make any attempt to load. The BIOS recognised the hdd and I can select that hdd to boot off of but it skips over it and continues the boot order until it gets to loading from the network... I've used boot-repair to no avial. Anyone have any ideas for me?

drs305
July 9th, 2012, 03:54 AM
cyphoyd,

Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums. :-)

Please use the Boot Repair tool to run the info script and post the link. If we can inspect the information we may be able to determine what has gone wrong.

cyphoyd
July 9th, 2012, 04:21 AM
HTTP://paste.Ubuntu.com/1082172/

Keep in mind this is my last ditch effort to trying everything. I'm pretty sure the partitions are excessive and unnecessary but it was worth a try. if you can pick anything out I'd appreciate any feedback.

drs305
July 9th, 2012, 04:40 AM
Unfortunately I haven't dealt with EFI partitions enough to know what breaks or fixes them. We have some very knowledgeable folks that frequent the forums who do know about these things but they don't appear to be online at the moment.

About all I can do is edit the thread title for you and add "EFI", which might attract those who can help.

cyphoyd
July 9th, 2012, 02:58 PM