PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Very slow shutdown

gredawarha
July 8th, 2012, 09:30 PM
Hello all

I have just noticed over the last few days that my Ubuntu 12.04 is taking 30+ seconds to shutdown where before it would shutdown very quickly.

I click the icon in the top right hand corner and then select shutdown or retart. Then nothing happens for 30 seconds or so and then it begins to shutdown.

Okay this is not the worst thing in the world but it's pretty annoying. Any idea on what is suddenly delaying the shutdown?

Appreciate any help.

gredawarha
July 8th, 2012, 11:15 PM
In addition if i run the shutdown command from a terminal it shuts down nice and quickly.

Also my partern has her own log in on the same machine yet does not have the same issue.

Mopar1973Man
July 9th, 2012, 03:49 AM
Being a noob myself but I'm willing to take a crack at it. You might want to look and see what is running on your side and your partners side for apps. Maybe that will give you a idea to the rogue program that might be running causing the slow shut down. Might just find the zombie...

But do a search for system monitor it should pop up...

NikTh
July 9th, 2012, 07:34 AM
Like Mopar1973Man (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=1574534) said , maybe its an app that hangs properly shutdown or maybe its a graphical problem (cause you said that from terminal its ok). So from your parnters account or just create a new user to see if its an app that fails to terminated.
If its a graphical bug you can try to add a line in to /etc/default/halt.

sudo nano /etc/default/haltand add this line INIT_HALT = POWEROFF
then click Ctrl+x and Y(es) and Enter to save .

gredawarha
July 9th, 2012, 08:23 PM
Thank you both for the replies. I tried to see if their was a particular program causing the issue but I couldn't find anything obvious.

I then added the line INIT_HALT = POWEROFF and so far that seems to have resolved the issue.

Many thanks

NikTh
July 9th, 2012, 08:26 PM