PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] File Types and Plug-ins

joepop
July 8th, 2012, 07:11 PM
Hi, I'm new to Ubuntu Linux so here are some pretty elementary questions:

What are the executable file types in Linux? And how do you execute them?
Even more general: What are the main file types, e.g.: In windows an HTML file is .htm; a code library is .dll?

Also, how are shortcuts (pointers to executable files) represented, Ubuntu doesn't seem to have desktop icons like windows does (except in the navigator)?

Windows has basicly two executable files: .exe (starts a program), and .bat (runs a list of DOS commands); each can be started up by double clicking on it, or pressing return after it on the command line. What are the Ubuntu Linux equivalents, and how do you start them?

Also, I can't get the Flash Player plug-in working in FireFox. I added the plug-in FlashAid
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/flash-aid/
to FireFox and ran it, but Flash player apps still don't work. Any suggestions?

I have Ubuntu 11.10 running on a Dell Inspiron 8000

Thanks for any help in these matters!

MG&TL
July 9th, 2012, 10:55 AM
What are the executable file types in Linux? And how do you execute them?Linux usually uses ELF binaries. To execute, you give your shell the path to it, or let it search the directories in the environment variable $PATH for you. Or you could just double-click in a file browser.

For example:

/usr/bin/firefoxexecutes firefox, but so would:

firefoxas /usr/bin/ is included in $PATH.

Even more general: What are the main file types, e.g.: In windows an HTML file is .htm; a code library is .dll?