PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No sound!



Shadius
July 8th, 2012, 07:32 AM
Hey everybody! :)

I've recently installed Ubuntu 12.04 on my system, but I have no sound! :( I've checked if the speakers were on mute and the obvious things, but those were fine. How do I solve this issue?

NikTh
July 8th, 2012, 07:51 AM
Did you try
sudo alsa force-reload

Also you can check

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec to see what is your card codec.
cat /proc/asound/modules to see card module..Then you can check out your card model here
zcat /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz and try to set the correct parameter in

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf with options <your card model> MODEL=what did you find in HD-Audio-Models.txt

You can also set parameter MODEL=auto . Its a generic parameter that works sometimes..

Check the documentation here > https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto

Shadius
July 8th, 2012, 07:56 AM
Thank you. I'll try these out.

Shadius
July 8th, 2012, 08:02 AM
Did you try
sudo alsa force-reload

Also you can check

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec to see what is your card codec.
cat /proc/asound/modules to see card module..Then you can check out your card model here
zcat /usr/share/doc/alsa-base/driver/HD-Audio-Models.txt.gz and try to set the correct parameter in

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf with options <your card model> MODEL=what did you find in HD-Audio-Models.txt

You can also set parameter MODEL=auto . Its a generic parameter that works sometimes..

Check the documentation here > https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto

Thank you very much!! Running the first command worked! Just so I understand and can help myself if this ever happens again, running that first command reloads the ALSA?

NikTh
July 8th, 2012, 08:05 AM
running that first command reloads the ALSA?

Yes. Basically force-reloads Alsa modules .

Shadius
July 8th, 2012, 08:19 AM
Yes. Basically force-reloads Alsa modules .

Thank you. Also, when I ran the second code, it gave me this:

shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
cat: /proc/asound/card0/codec97#0: Is a directory
shadius@shadius-asus:~$



What does this mean? Wasn't it supposed to show some codec?

NikTh
July 8th, 2012, 08:26 AM
Also, when I ran the second code, it gave me this:

shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
cat: /proc/asound/card0/codec97#0: Is a directory
shadius@shadius-asus:~$

What does this mean? Wasn't it supposed to show some codec?

Yes , its supposed to return something like this..

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
Codec: Realtek ALC892Maybe you card's codec its in another card than card0. Try to use the command with Tab key ...
cat /proc/asound/ # and here use Tab key to list your available card directories Try other card directories accordingly.

OR

try Tab key with current loacation ..
cat /proc/asound/card0/ # Tab key here..

Shadius
July 8th, 2012, 08:53 AM
Yes , its supposed to return something like this..

cat /proc/asound/card0/codec* | grep Codec
Codec: Realtek ALC892Maybe you card's codec its in another card than card0. Try to use the command with Tab key ...
cat /proc/asound/ # and here use Tab key to list your available card directories Try other card directories accordingly.

OR

try Tab key with current loacation ..
cat /proc/asound/card0/ # Tab key here..

Okay, here's what I got:

shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/
Audigy/ card1/ cards hwdep modules pcm timers version
card0/ card2/ devices ICH5/ oss/ seq/ UART/
shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
codec97#0/ intel8x0 pcm0p/ pcm2c/ pcm4p/
id pcm0c/ pcm1c/ pcm3c/
shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/


What's this all mean?

NikTh
July 9th, 2012, 06:58 AM
Okay, here's what I got:

shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/
Audigy/ card1/ cards hwdep modules pcm timers version
card0/ card2/ devices ICH5/ oss/ seq/ UART/
shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
codec97#0/ intel8x0 pcm0p/ pcm2c/ pcm4p/
id pcm0c/ pcm1c/ pcm3c/
shadius@shadius-asus:~$ cat /proc/asound/cat /proc/asound/card0/
What's this all mean?

I am not sure but i think means that you can try to find you card's codec in another card directory , like card1/ or card/2
e.g:

cat /proc/asound/card1/codec* | grep Codec

Shadius
July 9th, 2012, 08:16 AM
I am not sure but i think means that you can try to find you card's codec in another card directory , like card1/ or card/2
e.g:

cat /proc/asound/card1/codec* | grep Codec

Oh okay, well, thanks for helping me get my sound working!