PDA

View Full Version : Can't get DOSbox to work at all

SerFaren
July 8th, 2012, 05:11 AM
Where to start...

before anyone suggests wine: I've tried that. It doesn't work. It will try to load it and then it crashes.

Now

I am running Xubuntu 11.10 and am trying to play The Elder Scrolls: Arena, however it refuses to cooperate. I downloaded it not from the Bethesda site (Seeing as the .exe was screwed up), but from http://theelderscrolls.wiwiland.net/?title=Arena_:_ArenaSetup_EN, I then installed that via Wine Program Loader.

I'm completely lost as to what to do. IF someone could give me a different tutorial on how to do this, that'd be great. I'm just so confused... :frown:

paul1945
July 8th, 2012, 05:19 AM
I am no expert, but I would say that you installed the wrong dosbox, you are running one emulator within another which tends to multiply problems. Uninstall this one and try the Linux version which you can download and install through the "Ubuntu Software Centre" located on your Desktop. This is the Dosbox I am running and it seems to work well.

SerFaren
July 8th, 2012, 05:42 AM
I am no expert, but I would say that you installed the wrong dosbox, you are running one emulator within another which tends to multiply problems. Uninstall this one and try the Linux version which you can download and install through the "Ubuntu Software Centre" located on your Desktop. This is the Dosbox I am running and it seems to work well.

I tried to download it via Terminal:

sudo apt-get install dosbox
The first time. That got it from the USC... so...

R33D3M33R
July 8th, 2012, 07:37 AM
I then installed that via Wine Program Loader.

If you want to run a game through dosbox you should install it via dosbox. Also, check the tips here: http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/GAMES:The_Elder_Scrolls:_Arena

Sarys
August 3rd, 2012, 10:18 AM