PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Possible hardware issue?

jllipke
June 19th, 2012, 05:52 AM
Hi, I'm pretty new to Ubuntu so bear with me... I am running Ubuntu 11.10 on VMware and when I go to connect it to the internet, it is always looking for a wired connection. I know I have a wireless card in my laptop. Is there a way to fix this?

I am running a Compaq Presario CQ60 if that makes a difference.
feel free to ask any questions

thanks, :)

typhoon_tip
June 19th, 2012, 05:59 AM
Hi, I'm pretty new to Ubuntu so bear with me... I am running Ubuntu 11.10 on VMware and when I go to connect it to the internet, it is always looking for a wired connection. I know I have a wireless card in my laptop. Is there a way to fix this?

I am running a Compaq Presario CQ60 if that makes a difference.
feel free to ask any questions

thanks, :)

You must install some sort of driver extension pack into your Ubuntu virtual machine. To do so, use the menu of VMWare once Ubuntu has started.

jllipke
June 19th, 2012, 06:10 AM
I am running VMWare 6 if that makes a difference.

Do I need to install the VMWare tools?

Bucky Ball
June 19th, 2012, 06:17 AM
Welcome.

I don't have any experience running Ubuntu as a VM but I presume once it's running it is like any regular install re updating.

Can you plug in a cable and get online? If so, then do an update and it might fix your wireless issue. Can you boot into Ubuntu and post the result of this (from a terminal: Applications> Accessories> Terminal):

sudo lshw -C networkThat will show if the card is recognised and what it is. Being online and an update will then help us install the appropriate drivers. A lot of the time you need to be online with a cable to setup wireless. Catch 22. ;)

PS: After an update go to 'Additional Drivers' and see what is there (for that matter, have a look there now).

jllipke
June 19th, 2012, 06:29 AM
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE]