PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: Where's the menu???

AlexBooton
June 15th, 2012, 03:29 AM
Hi,

I'm just getting started with 12.04.

I'm sure this has been discussed b4 but WHERE'S THE @!:?!#@ MENU?

OK, I suppose the Unity approach is fine for some; but I think new users will be shocked by the lack of a menu.

Even for myself, I don't appreciate having to use the keyboard to open applications that are not on the "start bar" (or whatever you call it).

So isn't there a basic system menu lurking somewhere?

Thanks,

AB

kdane4
June 15th, 2012, 03:33 AM
Hi,

Its the top left button, with the Ubuntu logo on it called dash home.. :)

dFlyer
June 15th, 2012, 03:34 AM
Dash Home is the menu, it should be the very first icon on the launch bar. Click the second icon located on the bottom if the Dash Home and select Filtered results. Very simple. The easiest thing to do is just type the name of a program your looking for and it will pop up.

fbicknel
June 15th, 2012, 03:36 AM
I had a little trouble getting used to Unity myself. And even though it's not the answer you are looking for: try pressing and holding the Super key.

There's a menu for you ... but it's a Unity menu that tells you what all the keys do. They do some pretty neat stuff. (My current favorite is Super + W)

At first I put all the apps I wanted to start on the slide-out menu on the left side of the screen. But more and more I'm using Super + type in the first part of what I want to do.

Fingers never have to leave the keyboard.

bogan
June 15th, 2012, 10:10 AM
Hi!, AlexBooton,

You Posted:
I'm sure this has been discussed b4 but WHERE'S THE @!:???:!#@ MENU? You are right, it has, many times.

[You may need to install gnome-session-fallback from Ubuntu Software Center.]

Alternatively install' ClassicMenuIndicator' and you can have the classic menu from a topbar Icon even in Ubuntu unity 3d. [gOOGLE IT.]

Chao!,bogan.

Linux_junkie
June 15th, 2012, 10:32 AM
Hi,

I'm just getting started with 12.04.