PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Laptop Overheating



caffeinatedev
June 3rd, 2012, 02:15 AM
I'm having issues of my HP G60 experiencing overheating whilst using Ubuntu Precise. I know that it's not a hardware problem because on Windows Vista the laptop operates at an acceptable temperature.

Is there any tweaking that can be done on my part to resolve this? Thanks , happy Linuxing!

Photon89
June 3rd, 2012, 08:24 AM
What hardware does the laptop have? What video driver are you using?

N0oki3
June 6th, 2012, 09:37 PM
update bios (again, you need windows) and yes...which drivers do you use

caffeinatedev
June 13th, 2012, 04:41 AM
@Photon89: I am using an HP G60-120us and I believe I'm using the proprietary Nvidia driver unless I'm mistaken. How would I check that which drivers I'm using?

@N0oki3 Could you elaborate as to how my current BIOS effects anything? It's the latest firmware from my manufacturer.

Sorry that I took so long to respond, I've been without internet for a while. :-/

itagomo
June 26th, 2012, 03:04 PM
try making your /etc/default/grub:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash pcie_aspm=force i915.i915_enable_rc6=1"

got it from here:
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2011/11/linux-power-regression-overheating-problem-on-thinkpad-fixed

after reading a lot of posts, i've found out that the kernel has it's problems with some or other hardwares .. even 3.2 update didn't fix it ..

itagomo
June 26th, 2012, 03:07 PM
try making your /etc/default/grub:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash pcie_aspm=force i915.i915_enable_rc6=1"

then 'update-grub' from terminal ..

got it from here:
http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2011/11/linux-power-regression-overheating-problem-on-thinkpad-fixed

after reading a lot of posts, i've found out that the kernel has it's problems with some or other hardwares .. even 3.2 update didn't fix it ..

some useful stuff here:
http://pastebin.com/BTXKvp6B

caffeinatedev
July 2nd, 2012, 07:10 AM
Thanks for the info @itagomo. That OMG Ubuntu article's grammar made my brain sad. After reviewing the pastebin data, are you sure that would work for my machine? Here's my PC specs for clarification: http://pastebin.com/dtFFybvv

Thanks for your help guys, I truly appreciate it!

typhoon_tip
July 2nd, 2012, 02:35 PM
Have you installed NVidia proprietary video driver or you are simply using the one that comes after install ? To be better detailed, from Unity Dash open "Additional Drivers", and see if anything is "green" there (activated). If nothing appears, then run this command:

lspci

... and post entire output here.

caffeinatedev
July 2nd, 2012, 02:57 PM
@typhoon_tip I've been using a Nvidia Proprietary Driver since the first of my install. Here's my output:

00:01.0 ISA bridge: NVIDIA Corporation Device 075e (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)
00:01.3 Co-processor: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SATA Controller (non-AHCI mode) (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: NVIDIA Corporation MCP77 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: NVIDIA Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200M G] (rev a2)
07:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

typhoon_tip
July 3rd, 2012, 03:40 AM
Can you post the content of the XORG file here, use this command:

sudo cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

So we are 100% sure of what driver is in use. Moreover, what processor do you have ?

caffeinatedev
July 4th, 2012, 05:41 PM
Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection



2.00 GHz dual-core AMD processor

typhoon_tip
July 5th, 2012, 01:20 PM
Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
Option "NoLogo" "True"
EndSection



2.00 GHz dual-core AMD processor

You are definitely not using NVIDIA driver, even if is installed, that file looks wrong to me (it should contain many more references).

Can you open Nvidia Control Panel from the Unity Dash ? It should give you an error that it cannot find the adapter.

msammels
July 5th, 2012, 01:22 PM
And if it doesn't, you can close the control panel, open a terminal and type:


sudo nvidia-xconfig

To generate a new configuration.

typhoon_tip
July 5th, 2012, 01:24 PM
And if it doesn't, you can close the control panel, open a terminal and type:


sudo nvidia-xconfig

To generate a new configuration.

Lolll was googling for the command, which I forgot.

adding: before restart the system, post the output of the new xorg.conf file (or any error that nvidia-xconfig would eventually return).

msammels
July 5th, 2012, 01:25 PM
Haha typhoon, it's no problems.

But yes, please do post the output of new config, before you reboot, in case something is overwritten.

caffeinatedev
July 5th, 2012, 03:07 PM
And if it doesn't, you can close the control panel, open a terminal and type:


sudo nvidia-xconfig

To generate a new configuration.

I was able to open the control panel but I'm not to sure what you want me to do with that :)

Here's my output from the terminal:


Using X configuration file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf".

VALIDATION ERROR: Data incomplete in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
Device section "Default Device" must have a Driver line.

Backed up file '/etc/X11/xorg.conf' as '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup'
New X configuration file written to '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

typhoon_tip
July 7th, 2012, 09:51 AM
Post your new xorg.conf file ! And also, after rebooting, does the computer start ? How's the temperature... ?

caffeinatedev
July 7th, 2012, 10:57 PM
Post your new xorg.conf file ! And also, after rebooting, does the computer start ? How's the temperature... ?

Here's the output for the xorg.config file
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 295.40 (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-04.nvidia.com) Thu Apr 5 22:33:07 PDT 2012


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


The laptop boots up normally, except there's now a split second where a Nvidia splash screen appears. I don't know how to check my temperature but it seems a bit cooler from as far as being idle.

23senick
July 8th, 2012, 07:43 PM
Psensor works for me as a way of monitoring temperatures.

You could try the Jupiter applet and choose "power saving" mode from performance.

My laptop (HP dm1) is prone to high temperatures but this seems to have improved with updates to 12.04. Jupiter gained me 2-3 degrees and temp is similar to Windows (tho may tend to be a little higher)

caffeinatedev
July 8th, 2012, 10:02 PM
I installed PSensor and my GPU averages at around 70C....I don't know if that's normal for my laptop but it does seem a lot cooler to the touch.

Any ideas as to how I would get rid of the Nvidia splash screen?

23senick
July 8th, 2012, 11:37 PM
sorry, no. But another thought - it seemed to help temperature when I moved to proprietary driver for graphics - have you checked if any are available for your machine?

caffeinatedev
July 9th, 2012, 03:48 AM
Ever since I switched to the proprietary drivers, I have been suffering desktop environment stability issues, particularly whenever I open the Unity Dash; I can't open terminal and the console is virtually non-functioning. How do I switch back to the open-source drivers or better yet, check to see if the Nvidia drivers are the problem?

typhoon_tip
July 9th, 2012, 05:59 AM
There is a temperature monitor in NVIDIA configuration application (accessible from DASH).

It is possible that Unity messed up with your previous, broken setup of the driver. Give it a round of reset won't hurt, before tweaking driver install, try this:

unity --reset

caffeinatedev
July 11th, 2012, 11:21 PM
I ended up reinstalling the Nvidia drivers and I don't have any more graphical problems. I sure do wish I could get rid of that ugly Nvidia splash screen though. :confused:

typhoon_tip
July 12th, 2012, 08:15 AM
www.google.com

"nvidia get rid of splash screen"

Search, first result:
[ubuntu] disable nvidia splash screen - Ubuntu Forums

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=918705

:popcorn:

caffeinatedev
July 12th, 2012, 02:41 PM
Basically when in doubt, "Google it". Although I prefer to "Duck Duck Go it" ;)

americanman28
July 13th, 2012, 12:16 AM
Also try cleaning the computer