PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do you do a BIOS upgrade?



TAspr
May 25th, 2012, 04:05 AM
The file is in exe format?

My computer runs all the time?

williejones
May 25th, 2012, 04:12 AM
The file is in exe format? This sounds like it would need to run in Windows. Do you dual boot with a Windows install?

oklokl
May 25th, 2012, 04:16 AM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=318789

papibe
May 25th, 2012, 04:17 AM
Hi TAspr.

There's no simple answer. It all depends on the options your PC's manufacture gives you.

For example, some updates are to run on Windows only. Some have executables that can run on DOS, and others provides and ISO live CD to update the BIOS.

I would gladly give you more thoughts if you point me to your manufacture's download page (including model), so I can take a look what options you have.

Kind Regards.

P.S. In the meantime, take a look at this references: CD update (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootFromCD), and FreeDOS (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=318789) option.

Wild Man
May 25th, 2012, 04:18 AM
Hi, unless there is a problem with your bios or a new feature that will be added it is better to leave the bios a lone.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=318789
Thanks

TAspr
May 25th, 2012, 04:29 AM
Hi TAspr.

There's no simple answer. It all depends on the options your PC's manufacture gives you.

For example, some updates are to run on Windows only. Some have executables that can run on DOS, and others provides and ISO live CD to update the BIOS.

I would gladly give you more thoughts if you point me to your manufacture's download page (including model), so I can take a look what options you have.

Kind Regards.

P.S. In the meantime, take a look at this references: CD update (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootFromCD), and FreeDOS (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=318789) option.

It's an HP 6910P.

papibe
May 25th, 2012, 04:49 AM
If you are not dual booting with Windows, your only option is this version:


ROMPaq for HP Notebook System F.17
BIOS - FreeDOS Bootable Media 4 Nov 2008

The most recent ones are not available for FreeDOS. Since it's pretty old (2008 ), chances are that is not newer that the one you have.

In case it is, you would have to use the FreeDOS method.

I hope that helps, and tell us how it goes.
Regards.

TAspr
May 25th, 2012, 06:35 AM
If you are not dual booting with Windows, your only option is this version:


ROMPaq for HP Notebook System F.17
BIOS - FreeDOS Bootable Media 4 Nov 2008The most recent ones are not available for FreeDOS. Since it's pretty old (2008 ), chances are that is not newer that the one you have.

In case it is, you would have to use the FreeDOS method.

I hope that helps, and tell us how it goes.
Regards.

Is the code you put in after you get Free Dos?

Mark Phelps
May 25th, 2012, 06:51 PM
Messing up your BIOS is the easiest way to end up with an "electric brick"! IF you don't know what you're doing, and it appears that you do not, based on your questions, then leave it alone!

BIOS upgrades are written to add hardware features -- like new processor versions.

IF you're not trying to fix a specific hardware problem, and if you do not know if the BIOS version you're trying to apply does this fix then again -- leave it alone!