PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] libusb.h and USBD480 TFT Display

qake
May 22nd, 2012, 01:28 PM
Hey community of ubuntu.

Hope that this is the correct forum this time : )

I'm studying basic embedded electronics in Denmark and for my final project, I have together with my internship-company decided to make a user-interface on a USBD480 TFT Display. ( http://forum.lcdinfo.com/ )

However, after a month of googlin' and three weeks before deadline, I have decided to post the very edge of my problem.

The display has a library from their manufacturer of which I can use commands, but it needs to be interfaced with use of a USB to an ARM processor which has built-in Linux .

$gcc test.c

#include </home/admin/arm-linux-gcc/libusb/libusb-1.0.9/libusb/libusb.h>

int main (int argc, char **argv) //
{
usb_init();

return 0;
}Output:

admin@linux-machine:~/ALEX_GCC$ gcc test.c
/tmp/cchkSBid.o: In function `main':
test.c:(.text+0x7): undefined reference to `usb_init'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
admin@linux-machine:~/ALEX_GCC$ The questions that I have are:

What do I need to do to fix the "undefined reference" problem?

If not libusb, which library would you recommend for this project and why?

Any help is appreciated

Sincerely, Qake

Bachstelze
May 23rd, 2012, 03:04 AM
You need to pass the proper linked flags, so that the linker will pick libusb. Normally, you would do:

gcc -o test test.c -lusb-1.0

But you won't be able to use the ARM library on your computer, since it's probably not ARM...

qake
May 23rd, 2012, 02:15 PM
You need to pass the proper linked flags, so that the linker will pick libusb. Normally, you would do:

gcc -o test test.c -lusb-1.0But you won't be able to use the ARM library on your computer, since it's probably not ARM...

Thanks for answer.

The project has to be built for an ARM processor which has a Linux shell built-in and the company has given me their version of ubuntu virtual machine with the ARM GCC compiler on it.