PDA

View Full Version : What do you guys think about this student loan debacle?

kevdog
May 13th, 2012, 01:44 PM
At the risk of this thread getting shut down, I'm going to try to keep this non-political.

I'm writing this since a lot of users in this forum are either in school, or have just graduated.

For international users reading this column, there has been a lot of press lately in the US about the extreme cost of college or university, and the debt that the young graduate is saddled with when he/she has graduated. A lot of people worry about strudents potentially defaulting on their loans starting another credit crisis (although here in the US you can't declare bankruptcy to get rid of educational loans).

I graduated from college a long time ago and then went onto advanced schooling. I remember back in 2004 I had debt of over $250K. That's a lot by even today's standards. 8 years later, the debt has been payed off, and I'm onto borrowing for different things, house, car etc.

Given my own individual experience with my loan, I'm very unsympathetic to the "modern" generation complaining about their debt burden. I'm just wondering other people's take on this issue. Particularly anyone that may have dropped out of college due to debt, or anyone having a very hard time paying it back.

whatthefunk
May 13th, 2012, 02:04 PM
What gets me is that people go into debt for degrees that wont actually earn them money. If you accumulate a quarter of a million dollars in debt to get a degree in education that wont pay you more than 40,000 a year, its your own fault and you wont get any sympathy from me. People need to be smarter about going to college. I went to a smaller in-state school and walked out degree in hand without a single cent of debt and have a decent paying job.

Bandit
May 13th, 2012, 02:36 PM