PDA

View Full Version : Linux lover caught in a Windows-app-development job?

tuxerman
May 10th, 2012, 04:55 PM
Hey folks

This is probably way off ubuntu but not quite out of bounds for the Community Cafe I believe. I have a job offer from a company with a global presence, which is engaged in a variety of sectors - industrial automation, transport, etc to name a few. I am assigned a software development job, which would be providing the software backend for all their above mentioned hardware systems. I am told that I would be working exlusively on windows platforms, and mostly be involved in windows-application development. Basically, I am not from a CS background, and most of my programming skills have been self taught. The job would undoubtedly teach me a lot of mainstream stuff.

I really have gotten used to using linux, tinkering a lot in python, the shell etc. While I may continue doing the same, and perhaps (baby steps) engage myself by participating in an open-source project or two - would I be able to carry off my career-based experience (writing windows based software for a product based company) and my love (and mostly self-made experience) in linux and stuff, and perhaps do a masters in CS or in the long terms switch towards a career more in the line of using linux, shell or python (while we're still dreaming, something like google perhaps? :P).

So any suggestions on how to keep my resume alive with the good stuff while I am writing stuff in .NET and Java?

Apologies if the question seems confusing, am a tad confused as well :D

Dragonbite
May 10th, 2012, 07:21 PM
Hey folks