PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No Dual-Boot Install Option

NerdSource
May 1st, 2012, 08:46 PM
I apologise if this problem has already been posted - and solved - on this forum, I did do a search but either it wasn't there, or my search skills are that poor...

I am interested in dual-booting my 1.5TB SATA hard drive with both Windows 7 (64-bit) and Ubuntu, but I am a TOTAL noob at this. I downloaded Ubuntu 32-bit, burned it to a CD successfully as instructed, re-started my computer and the option to 'install or try' appeared.

However, when I click "Install" I only get two options:

Replace Windows
Something Else

I don't want to replace windows, and the 'something else' section just looks like an alien language with alien options to select to me! How do I get to the dual-boot option where I can create a partition and alter its size by dragging on its visual representation?

(I am currently downloading the 64-bit version of Ubuntu, as my system is 64-bit and I'm wondering if that's the problem)

darkod
May 1st, 2012, 09:04 PM
The most common problem is if you are already using 4 primary partitions. You can check this in windows Disk Management.
The maximum on a disk is 4 primary partition so because it can't create new ones, it offers only to overwrite windows.

Also, in Disk Management take a look in your disk layout, and plan how you want it to look. If there is no unallocated space (not belonging to any partition), and usually there isn't, you will have to use Disk Management and shrink or delete some partition that would allow you to create unallocated space with the size you want to allocate to ubuntu.
If the 4 partitions limit is used up, you will have to delete one partition in any case.

After you have unallocated space, the install should go fine.

NerdSource
May 1st, 2012, 09:19 PM
Ok, I have checked windows Disk Management. I have taken a screenshot of it as shown below...now I'm guessing the C: drive has one partition? And zero unallocated space?