PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can anyone suggest a good desktop calendar?

Old Newville
April 26th, 2012, 01:03 PM
Hello all,

I'm a freelance writer who is suddenly finding more work, and I expect the pace to pick up even more. This is a good thing, but I'm also finding that organization is becoming a challenge. I currently use the Lightning calendar in Thunderbird, but it is no longer sufficient for my needs.

Does anyone know of a calendar that runs from the desktop independently of a browser or email client? My wife and I both work, and it would be a big help to us if we could each view the others' appointments as they're being added.

We're looking for something that can:

1. Run on both Windows and Ubuntu, and

2. Sync with each other across the network.

If I'm not asking for too much, :) any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I've googled desktop calendars and there are simply too many available. I don't have time to experiment.

cmcanulty
April 26th, 2012, 02:14 PM
google calendar?

Old Newville
April 26th, 2012, 02:41 PM
Thanks.

Just one question -- can Google Calendar be run separately from a browser or email client? I have a Google account but have not really explored this.

Part of my organization problem is that practically anything I do requires a user name and password. I begin to think that "cloud computing" means that your head is lost in a cloud of jumbled names and passwords! We've got three index card boxes full of these.

I would love it if I didn't have to log into so many accounts. I usually have too many tabs open on Firefox and Thunderbird.

Isn't there a way to simplify all this on the desktop? I'm looking for something that is just as easy as a paper desk calendar.

Lemuriano
April 26th, 2012, 02:50 PM
Take a look at Osmo!

Regards.

PS. Sorry no sync.

LewisTM
April 26th, 2012, 02:57 PM