PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cant set resolution the same on both monitors

tubbz187
April 23rd, 2012, 06:59 PM
Hi im a new Ubuntu user,
I have installed Ubuntu 11.10 64 Bit and cannot set my monitors to the same resolution.
My pc specs are:
Motherboard: Asus p5k se
Processor: Intel Pentium dual CPU E2200
Ram: 7 Gb ddr2 800
GPU: nvidia geforce 9800gt
Monitors: Acer AL1719

I am completely new to Ubuntu so any help will be really appreciated if you need any more information i will try my best to provide it.
Many thanks

wolfen69
April 23rd, 2012, 08:20 PM
Did you install the nvidia drivers? You will find them by hitting the windows key and typing additional drivers.

tubbz187
April 23rd, 2012, 08:37 PM
hi i have put the drivers on there, i have dual screens running but they are at different resolutions as it wont let me set them to the same, one does comes up as CRT 0 but the other comes up with the name and model.
Its the one that has no name and model i can not set to the right resolution

pqwoerituytrueiwoq
April 23rd, 2012, 08:57 PM
if both screens support the resolution you want go into nvidia-settings

gksu nvidia-settingsX Server Display Configuration
If and only if they support the same resolution set it to use twin view otherwise you will need to use separate x screens and you cant drag windows between screen
once you get it set click "Save to X Configuration File"

if you still cant set the screen resolution post the output of this after you use the "Save to X Configuration File" button (and please use code tags)

cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Edit bodhi.zazen - fixed minor spelling

tubbz187
April 23rd, 2012, 09:30 PM
Am i right in thinking that i put what is in the boxes into to terminal if so the first one comes up with no command, the second gave me this

nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 280.13 (buildd@allspice) Thu Aug 11 20:54:45 UTC 2011

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"