PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] I'm new to this and I have some questions.

Cr1scoD1sco
April 15th, 2012, 05:20 PM
Hello, I apologize that I'm just asking questions when the point of a forum is to discuss things and not just ask questions. That being said, I want to try many things in Ubuntu, but I'm not totally sure what I can and cannot do.

I have been running Ubuntu Studio 11.04 on an old computer for about a week now. From what I can tell, the programs are working fine. I chose to use Ubuntu Studio mainly to use Ardour and a few other applications. Here's where I start getting problems. On a separate computer, I run Windows XP. About a year ago, I made an Impulse buy of Pro Tools SE bundled with a regular M-Audio Fast Track (not Fast Track Pro). Little did I know how awful SE is, especially on Windows. Anyway, I plan on, in the future, buying a Macbook Pro and Logic Pro or buying Sonar. I decided in the mean time to try Ardour in Ubuntu Studio. Now, I thought this would work out great because I could still use my Fast Track for Ardour. I plugged the Fast Track into the USB input of my computer and started up windows. The computer gave power to the Fast Track and I could hear my guitar, however I could not hear anything going on in Ubuntu and when I recorded into ardour, there were no signs of it recognizing any sounds. So my first question is, will a regular M-Audio Fast Track work in Ubuntu? If not, what would you suggest I do instead? What USB Audio Interfaces will work with Ubuntu?

The second thing I'm wondering is about Wine. I have done some reading and it appears that some programs, such as Pro Tools, do not work well if they work at all in Ubuntu. I would like to try a demo of Sonar or Pro Tools in Ubuntu using wine but I want to know if it's worth it and if I will be able to delete them afterwords?