PDA

View Full Version : Unity search not auto-selecting first item



cromat
April 8th, 2012, 06:11 PM
I have just switched back from using gnome 3 shell to unity for a few reasons, anyway on of the most annoying things in unity is that when I search for the terminal I have to arrow key down twice or use the mouse to click the item i searched for. Is there a way to have it auto-select these?

Paddy Landau
April 9th, 2012, 03:05 PM
If you search for an item and it's the first on the list, just press Enter.

By default, Ctrl-Alt-T will open a terminal for you, so you don't need to go through Dash.

cromat
April 9th, 2012, 03:30 PM
The enter thing doesn't work for me it does not launch the first item in the list in 12.04.

Paddy Landau
April 9th, 2012, 04:32 PM
Ah, you're on 12.04. This should be in the forum Ubuntu+1 (Precise Pangolin) (http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=412).

I am not sure that the Enter functionality was ever an explicit design feature, but you can raise it as a bug an see what the developers think.

cromat
April 9th, 2012, 04:42 PM
Thanks will do.

cromat
April 9th, 2012, 04:43 PM
I have just switched back from using gnome 3 shell to unity for a few reasons, anyway on of the most annoying things in unity is that when I search for say the terminal I have to arrow key down twice or use the mouse to click the item i searched for. Is there a way to have it auto-select the first item in the search found?

Paddy Landau
April 9th, 2012, 05:31 PM
If you raise a bug, please post the link here so that we can find it.

cromat
April 9th, 2012, 06:53 PM
https://bugs.launchpad.net/unity/+bug/977338

Feel free to add more to it.

grahammechanical
April 9th, 2012, 08:03 PM
You should see this link

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1954689

Please do not post the same question in more than one section.

Regards.

philinux
April 9th, 2012, 08:10 PM
Threads merged and tidied up.