PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't remove read-only status

JakeSteel
April 7th, 2012, 04:23 PM
I just started up a server (11.10) yesterday using an old desktop from a friend, and moved some files over to it via FTP. Now I'm trying to get rid of those files, but when I try to remove them it says that they're read-only and thus, they can't.

So I tried using chmod to change the permissions, and was greeted by this:

chmod: changing permissions of '<filename>.sh': Read-only file system

When I check if it's now executable, the permissions haven't changed. Is there anything I can do to get rid of these files short of wiping the harddrive?

P.S: I'm also having issues installing java. I used the following command

sudo apt-get install openjdk-7-jre-headless

Which seems to work, as it begins reading package lists. But once it reaches 99% it just stops. What am I doing wrong?

P.S.S: I apologize if these are simple issues, I'm very new to this and trying to get some server experience.

iponeverything
April 7th, 2012, 04:38 PM
You seem to be intentionally vague -

where is the file located?

also look at a tail of the most recent apt log under /var/log/apt -- for possible clues on its hang.

skabople
April 7th, 2012, 04:44 PM
Yeah live boot and run a FSCK. Or kernel parameter init=/bin/bash and at the command line run /sbin/fsck -Cfy

Or just su to root and FTW and just start deleting!

JakeSteel
April 7th, 2012, 04:45 PM
The files are located in /home/rad423/Districtopia [SoP]

The two files I'm trying to delete are craftbukkit.jar and craftbukkit.sh (files for running a Minecraft server).

skabople
April 7th, 2012, 04:49 PM
The files are located in /home/rad423/Districtopia [SoP]

The two files I'm trying to delete are craftbukkit.jar and craftbukkit.sh (files for running a Minecraft server).

Ok do a

ls -lah /home/rad423/Disteictopia[SOP]
And give the output

Also try creating a file with

touch test

And output of that as well.

SeijiSensei