PDA

View Full Version : Drive Clone Help (30GB SSD -> 90GB SSD)

Skyflyer4life
April 5th, 2012, 06:09 PM
This doesn't exactly pertain to Ubuntu 12.04 Beta and isn't a pressing issue but I was looking for some expert help and thought I would ask around here. I'm currently running 12.04 Beta 2 and was trying to swap out the 30 GB SSD drive for a 90 GB SSD drive and have not been successful over the past 2 days of working on it. I've tried Clonezilla without success as well as dd commands. I'm running into GPT issues I think and chrooted into the cloned distro on the new SSD to try to install grub2 but without success.

This is my first attempt at cloning so bear with me. My first question is that after the drive is cloned, the fstab is going to have the wrong UUID identifiers for the drive it is sitting on right? I don't understand how that could work? From all my reading this has never come up so I'm probably barking up the wrong tree. If anyone can help with some easy to follow instructions that would be awesome. BTW.. I have one of those newer mobo with UEFI bios.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19141/clone-a-hard-drive-using-an-ubuntu-live-cd/

http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/walkthrough.html

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1581099
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1680929

CharlesA
April 5th, 2012, 06:20 PM
Why not just use clonezilla and do a disk-to-disk copy?

You may have to expand/enlarge the partition, but that should be fairly easy to do.

Skyflyer4life
April 5th, 2012, 06:33 PM
Thanks Charles... I'm going to run Clonezilla again and see what happens.

rubylaser
April 5th, 2012, 06:43 PM
Just 1 more idea to add to CharlesA's already good suggestions. Normally, I'd use ddrescue to clone drives because it handles bad sectors better, and it seems a little faster than dd for me. I'd just do it like this.

sudo apt-get install gddrescue

/dev/sda would be your 30GB SSD and /dev/sdb would be your 90GB SSD.

sudo ddrescue -v /dev/sda /dev/sdb