PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unity memory leak



tehowe
April 3rd, 2012, 03:18 AM
Launchpad's choking when I search on Unity so I thought I'd float this here (and remind myself to file a bug later if this is news)

The last while whenever I leave my box running, there seems to be a huge memory leak in Unity/the HUD. Observe:

http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h395/tehowe42/hud_leak.jpg

So after noting this I restarted and...

http://i1107.photobucket.com/albums/h395/tehowe42/hud_fresh.jpg

Has anyone else experienced this??

mcellius
April 3rd, 2012, 03:38 AM
I had something similar earlier today with thunderbird-bin. It didn't last through the reboot, but for awhile I was unable to close it and my system monitor showed both cores in my CPU very active and memory not releasing. (But I'd like to have your six cores!)

NHclimber
April 3rd, 2012, 10:04 PM
That's a pretty big memory leak. Report one against compiz too -- 1G?!

MacUntu
April 3rd, 2012, 11:17 PM
Make sure you are using indicator-appmenu 0.3.96-0ubuntu2 or later. That leak has already been fixed.

jbicha
April 4th, 2012, 01:49 AM
Also, are you using any extra indicators? For instance, I've heard indicator-multiload has/had some serious issues.

tehowe
April 4th, 2012, 04:42 PM
Also, are you using any extra indicators? For instance, I've heard indicator-multiload has/had some serious issues.

You nailed it. I'm using the System Indicator, yeah.

Currently it's 0.3-0+66~8~17~precise1

Not sure how that compares with the version mentioned by MacUntu but I'm keeping up to date so I'll assume I won't see the problem when I return to my server later this evening :)

Edit: Oh, different package. indicator-appmenu is at 0.3.96-0ubuntu3

philinux
April 4th, 2012, 04:54 PM
Also, are you using any extra indicators? For instance, I've heard indicator-multiload has/had some serious issues.

I've had that running for 2 days and no problems so far.

apt-cache policy indicator-multiload
indicator-multiload:
Installed: 0.2-0ubuntu1

grandtoubab
April 4th, 2012, 05:20 PM
Hello
Having 7.8 GB RAM I will set-up swapiness=0
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq

I have only 2 GB and it works like a charm

@ubuntu-desktop:~$ cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
0

tehowe
April 16th, 2012, 08:39 AM
Hello
Having 7.8 GB RAM I will set-up swapiness=0
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SwapFaq

I have only 2 GB and it works like a charm

@ubuntu-desktop:~$ cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
0

I haven't been seeing the issue for a while so I assume it's been addressed.

normcross
April 19th, 2012, 10:11 AM
Hi all,

I've been using Ubuntu 10.10 and four days ago I installed Ubuntu 12.04 64bit on a separate drive. Unfortunately I been noticing this problem.

From a clean boot, opening system monitor and nothing else:-

Unity weighs in at 542 MiB and after five minutes reaches 830 MiB in fifteen minutes it's at 1023 MIB and still rising, but slower.

You mention indicator-appmenu version. Mine is 0.3.97 Oubuntu1


Cheers.

cariboo907
April 19th, 2012, 07:02 PM
Open a terminal, and type:


top

Then type:


m

This will sort applications by memory usage, it should show you what is causing the problem.

On my system the two big ram users are compiz and Xorg.

normcross
April 20th, 2012, 03:43 PM
Hi, Did some checking:- Mem used Ubuntu startup and using 'top' 911660K After 10 mins idle, stays at about 1027116K start qnome-system monitor 1060336K After 10 mins idle 1406404K and still rising close system monitor and after 5 mins 1407528K fairly steady. Guess I wont be using system monitor for a while Cheers.

EDIT.. sorry about the formatting, just don't know what happened.

cariboo907
April 20th, 2012, 07:06 PM
If you can reliably reproduce the problem using System Monitor, I'd suggest you create a bug report. Use the automagic bug reporting utility:


sudo ubuntu-bug gnome-system-monitor

Hanine
April 21st, 2012, 09:43 PM
I noticed this just today!
Unity became slow and it laggs starting a certain time of use!

I filed a bug two weeks ago against zeitgeist which issued a big memory and CPU usage leak.

I am trying to monitor resources and spot where the problem come from...