PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Could Ubuntu Server do all these tasks?

Unewbeginner
March 30th, 2012, 04:25 AM
hello everyone, I'm not a server expert and I'd like to if Ubuntu Server could handle the situation below in our company:

- about 50 workstations with different OS (Ubuntu, Windows, Mac)
- All these workstations could communicate with each other (email, instant messenger, etc)
- All these workstations could access a File Server
- Different file permissions for different level of employees
- The IT manager could deploy all the services and permissions above, but the general manager has a higher level of IT authority than him.

If everything is possible with Ubuntu Server, any good suggestions on the specific tasks? Like which software to do the file permissions assignment, etc?

Thanks in advance!

drdos2006
March 30th, 2012, 08:19 AM
Of course Ubuntu can do all you ask of it.
If you are going to be the administrator of the equipment then you are going to have to do some heavy reading to set up your first server.
Zentyal will get your machine running in an office environment while you learn the more detailed operations of a server. http://www.zentyal.org/
Uses a GUI at the server, was based on Ubuntu 10. Long Term Support last time I looked.

Here is a HOWTO which I found comprehensive and invaluable for me to start learning about server requirements.
Uses Webmin to allow your browser to connect and modify your server settings.
You could also install the Desktop plus install and run the server as a virtual machine using Virtualbox and that is how I run my testing websever.

Are you using the most current version of this how-to?
Version numbers are located @ top right of this page. Latest versions are available at my homepage http://woodel.com
Under the Solutions tab
"Setting up a Linux Server, Start to Finish, using Webmin". By Kevin Elwood

And on your server..........

Logon to your server and download from your server with :