PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] ssh into server issue?

gmenfan83
March 25th, 2012, 10:03 PM
Ok I am a bit confused. I recently set up a virtual Ubuntu server on my windows desktop. My primary machine is a Mac. From my server I type "ifconfig" to get my information etc. there are 2 displays. Etho and loop back. Now when I try to ssh into my server from my Mac using my etho inet address I get an empty prompt in terminal. When I use my loop back address which is 127.0.0.1 (I believe to be standard) I get a prompt for password. I enter it but it almost seems as if though I'm ssh'ing right back into my Mac. I hope I am making sense. If I explained any of this wrongly I apologize. Please have patience as I am new to this. Thank you.

darkod
March 25th, 2012, 10:27 PM
The 127.0.0.1 is the localhost address. So yes, with it you are ssh-ing into the Mac.

Did you maybe enable any firewall on the server? If you did, unless you open port 22 (or another port if you changed it) it will not let you in.

Also, first make sure the network on the server is working fine. Log in on it and try
ping 8.8.8.8

for example. If you receive a reply the internet is working and most probably the network setup.

Also try to ping the Mac address from the server, and the server address from the Mac.

Unless an activated firewall is blocking you, it sounds like a network issue. Double check it.

gmenfan83
March 25th, 2012, 10:44 PM