PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ISO to WMV format

goodgriefpenfold
March 14th, 2012, 08:55 PM
Hello,

I'm sure there are many ways of doing this but i'm hoping to pick your collective brains.

In your view what is the best way of converting an iso image to wmv format. The reason that i ask is that i stream media from my nas drive to my xbox.

I am new to ubuntu having migrated from windows.

Regards

mikechant
March 15th, 2012, 03:05 PM
I think you need to explain more fully. What is in the iso? An iso file contains an entire file system - directory structure and files - so converting an iso to wmv doesn't really make sense.

Do you mean that the iso file contains various wmv files? If so, I think you can extract them just by right clicking on the iso file and selecting 'open with archive manager' - this should allow you to access and extract the files contained in the iso.

goodgriefpenfold
March 15th, 2012, 06:00 PM
Hi

Its to back up my Family home movies that I want to keep safe on my network drive. (Sign your getting older i suppose!) I want them to be in wmv format because thats what my media centre (xbox) will play when streamed from said drive.

mikechant
March 16th, 2012, 02:31 PM
This doesn't really get us any further.

To repeat: converting an iso file to wmv format does not make any sense. An iso file is an entire filesystem, not a type of video file.

If the iso file contains a number of wmv files then the method described above will allow you to extract them without conversion.
If the iso file contains video files in some other format they will need extracting and then converting.

Please try opening the iso file as described above, and then tell us what it contains.

dolphin194
March 16th, 2012, 04:42 PM
It is not possible to convert an ISO to WMV format, as they are completely different types of files.

An ISO file is an archive that stores other types of files, similar to a folder, and A WMV file is a video.

But...