PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with CD Install

davidmgf
March 14th, 2012, 06:59 PM
Hi,

I am new to Ubuntu, but not to Linux. I have made a CD of 11.10 and tested the installation on the CD before using it to install from. The CD properly recognized my monitors but the installation made from the installation did not.

I have tried to edit the X config files but they are not used in the exact manner i am familiar with and i don't appear to be finding the display drivers i need even though the CD worked fine and I would have been happy to at least start with what is on the CD.

Is there a way to get THAT install put on my hard drive instead of whatever it is putting there or is that just the current state of 11.10 and i need to go back to an older version?

Thank you,

David

tbhatia4
March 14th, 2012, 07:02 PM
Hi,

I am new to Ubuntu, but not to Linux. I have made a CD of 11.10 and tested the installation on the CD before using it to install from. The CD properly recognized my monitors but the installation made from the installation did not.

I have tried to edit the X config files but they are not used in the exact manner i am familiar with and i don't appear to be finding the display drivers i need even though the CD worked fine and I would have been happy to at least start with what is on the CD.

Is there a way to get THAT install put on my hard drive instead of whatever it is putting there or is that just the current state of 11.10 and i need to go back to an older version?

Thank you,

David

there is no way rather than a fresh install to go ack to a previous version

adstri
March 14th, 2012, 07:02 PM
Hi David

What GPU do you have, you maybe missing a driver which is leaving its output undetected when you have finished the install? When you try booting without the live CD do you get any output?

Adam

Holdolin
March 14th, 2012, 07:04 PM