PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Uninstalled - Can't delete old Ubuntu partition

xyrana
March 11th, 2012, 09:33 PM
I installed Ubuntu off a CD a while ago, then I decided I gave it too much space, so I uninstalled so that I could resize the partitions. When I try to delete the free space, though, after going through the warning (this may become inaccessible, etc), it says "There is not enough free space on the disk(s) to complete this operation." So... now what.

I'm using Window 7, and I believe the version of Ubuntu (if it matters) was 11.04. I tried gparted, and it wouldn't let me delete, either (though I'm not an expert with computers by any means, so I might have missed something).

This is somebody else's screenshot, but it essentially sums up what my hard drive looks like right now:

http://i911.photobucket.com/albums/ac319/BLOBFUT/Discmanagement1.jpg

Bölvağur
March 11th, 2012, 10:58 PM
Free/empty space cannot be deleted, it can only be converted/filled up by something new.

By going from the screenshot it looks like the only thing you need to do is expand the windows partition over the empty space.
But the error you gave is something completely different and indicates this is not your situation, please upload your screenshot.

ajgreeny
March 11th, 2012, 11:00 PM
A few points worth making!

Is the old ubuntu partition already deleted?
What do you mean by "uninstalled ubuntu"? How did you do that? Was it a wubi installation from within Windows?
You can't delete free space, it is already free and empty.
Your screenshot is from Windows Disk management utility which is almost useless for ubuntu partition management, as it can not see what the ubuntu partitions really are; it just calls them healthy.
Boot to a live ubuntu CD and run gparted from that, then show us that screenshot; it will be a lot more informative.