PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I Just love all those updates

A-Jay
March 10th, 2012, 08:02 PM
I am a newbie to this Ubuntu 10.4 . I have seen some many updates in my life is this the first month for this system! Anyway I am running a pretty old HP 764n 8+ years old computer, that last couple of groups of updates only seem to have disabled things like my cheapo dongle wireless adapter the update a couple of weeks ago, now running on a cat-5 cable to the modem. The latest updates (yesterday now my video playback is either very choppy or things won't play at all. Any advice from you seasoned vets would be great. I think maybe I should stay on the main road (Mac or the other guy ) Thanks for any advice. A-Jay

winh8r
March 10th, 2012, 08:17 PM
Click on the "Help with Flash" link in my sig below and install Flash Aid and run the wizard to correctly configure your flash plugins specifically for your set up.

Changing from any OS to another has its challenges, all it takes is a little perseverance and the willingness to accept that you might need to learn to do things a little differently than you have been used to.

You can search the forum using the search function or ask any questions you may have. Remember, there is no such thing as a stupid question.

Let us know how it goes for you.

Good Luck

grahammechanical
March 10th, 2012, 09:51 PM
Ubuntu ISO images are snapshots of the release taken (made) at particular points in time. What you downloaded and installed from was an ISO image that was mastered in July 21 last year.

The Ubuntu team is proud to announce the release of Ubuntu 10.04.3 LTS, the third maintenance update to Ubuntu's 10.04 LTS release. This release includes updated server, desktop, alternate installation CDs and DVDs for the i386 and amd64 architectures.