PDA

View Full Version : Network traffic monitor in Ubuntu Unity: Please help me test it.

manolo
March 9th, 2012, 01:38 PM
I am still using Ubuntu 10.04 but I am getting ready for 12.04
I have written a simple Python script to show network traffic in an application indicator but I can not test it because my version of python-appindicator does not include 'set_label()' method.
Could you test my script in your computer?

Please find the script as an attached file.
To test it:
Check that you are using Ubuntu Unity
Check that the following packages are installed:
- python-appindicator
- python-gtk2
- python-gobject
- python-gtop
Download the script mentioned above (NetTraffic.py)
Make the file executable
Run it:
- If it is in Temp directory, (in a terminal) cd Temp; ./NetTraffic.py
- You can stop it by typing CtrlC
Please let me know what you see in the Unity panel

I have never programmed in Python before and it is the first time I use appindicator. Any expert is welcome to improve the code.
Thank you very much!

r-senior
March 9th, 2012, 01:44 PM
Could you edit your post and wrap the code in code tags by selecting it and using the # button just above the edit post window?

I can't test it, but would be interested to read it.

manolo
March 9th, 2012, 02:00 PM
Could you edit your post and wrap the code in code tags by selecting it and using the # button just above the edit post window?

I can't test it, but would be interested to read it.

I noticed the loss of formatting and have attached the file instead of including it in the thread.

klyshas
April 15th, 2012, 05:55 PM
I've tested your script with 12.04 and it works. Thanks, it is exactly what I was looking for. I couldn't find any decent indicator of network traffic for Unity panel.

hakermania
April 15th, 2012, 08:32 PM
It works for me too. Nice one :)

r-senior
April 15th, 2012, 10:10 PM
Good job! \\:D/

Have you considered making a project for it on Launchpad and packaging it into a PPA?

manolo