PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Media not mounting



stdare
March 9th, 2012, 10:20 AM
Hello all,
I have recently added an additional hard drive to my system running Ubuntu 10.10.
On boot, I get a message saying that media failed to mount.
When I choose the Skip option Ubuntu starts up okay.
The odd thing is that the drive is available and working when I log in. :confused:

Any suggestions on how to fix this annoying message at boot?

Thanks

Jon Monreal
March 9th, 2012, 02:57 PM
Is it an internal or external (USB, etc.) drive?

androssofer
March 9th, 2012, 04:14 PM
Hello all,
I have recently added an additional hard drive to my system running Ubuntu 10.4.
On boot, I get a message saying that media failed to mount.
When I choose the Skip option Ubuntu starts up okay.
The odd thing is that the drive is available and working when I log in. :confused:

Any suggestions on how to fix this annoying message at boot?

Thanks

also is it encrypted?

stdare
March 10th, 2012, 01:55 AM
The drive is an internal SATA HDD. No, it is not encrypted.
Thanks.

NikTh
March 10th, 2012, 02:17 AM
Hi ,
Can you give the results of those three commands ?

sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
sudo blkid

and what type is file system ? ntfs ? ext4 ?

stdare
March 10th, 2012, 04:02 AM
Hi ,
Can you give the results of those three commands ?

sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
sudo blkidand what type is file system ? ntfs ? ext4 ?

The filesystem is ntfs.
I'll give the terminal commands a whirl now, but warning: I am still pretty new to this...

stdare
March 10th, 2012, 04:13 AM
Hi ,
Can you give the results of those three commands ?

sudo fdisk -l
cat /etc/fstab
sudo blkid

and what type is file system ? ntfs ? ext4 ?
The blkid may have given me a clue, as I seem to have an extra ext4 partition that I don't see in the user mount tool.
Is it possible that I have conflicting file system settings somehow?

OT: A hint on how to do screenshots in Ubuntu would also be of use. Would be nice to post up a screenshot....

NikTh
March 11th, 2012, 12:38 AM
The results of commands you can do a copy-paste in here. But put the results in code tag. Select the text and hit #
You can hit Atl + printscreen keys for a screenshot of current window , or printscreen alone for a screenshot of all desktop.

stdare
March 11th, 2012, 05:25 AM
Thanks for the suggestions, but I have a new problem now. Mucking around in the media mounting GUI, I think I must have done something stupid as the machine won't boot now.
Getting the GRUB (i think it was) recovery window on startup. Its not the drive in question, as I removed that and tried a boot with the same result. :-(

Thanks for your help.