PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Beginners please be aware: Installaton from DVD problematic

Ramveng
March 9th, 2012, 07:48 AM
I am an absolute beginner. I was not successful in installing from DVD (I tried 10.04 LTS and 11.10). Instead as per guidance from this forum I created a bootable USB using Universal USB installer from the downloaded .iso image of Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot. Installing from USB was easy. This thread is intended to make beginners like me aware of the problem and suggest solution. Please refer to the following thread to know more.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1935954&highlight=clean+install

Create Bootable USB (http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb-installer-easy-as-1-2-3/#buttonhttp://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb-installer-easy-as-1-2-3/#button)

lisati
March 9th, 2012, 07:53 AM
Which thread? The link you provided was for an expired search.

mastablasta
March 9th, 2012, 08:29 AM
it could be that your DVD drive failed to burn the data correctly.

anewguy
March 9th, 2012, 11:16 AM
Not to mention if you are actually trying to burn to a physical DVD it isn't going to work - as far as I know the normal images you download are CD iso images and won't work if you try to burn them to a DVD. I may be wrong, but then again, maybe not.....

EDIT: I think I stand corrected......I just searched the web on this and it appears it is possible. I thought the structure of a DVD was such that the structure of a CD wouldn't work on it.

Dave ;)

pootan
March 9th, 2012, 11:25 AM
I've burned and installed about 14 different Ubuntu variations over the past few weeks ranging from 10.04 to 12.04 and the only problem I had was when I used XFburn to burn one disc rather than my usual K3b. XFburn didn't have a verify function that I could find easily and the gamble didn't pay off.

haqking
March 9th, 2012, 11:30 AM