PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu slow on my netbook

poshin
March 8th, 2012, 05:30 PM
I installed Ubuntu 11.10 on my netbook (Intel Atom, 1 GB Ram, 1.6 GHz) using Wubi. However the Ubuntu was slower than my Windows XP and even a simple click took time to load...any help on this? :confused::confused::confused:

rollcast
March 8th, 2012, 05:31 PM
Have you tried using one of the light weight desktop environments such as xfce?

poshin
March 8th, 2012, 05:34 PM
@rollcast,

No I haven't. I'm sorry but I'm a complete noob at this. Now what is xfce and what do I exactly do with it?

rollcast
March 8th, 2012, 05:45 PM
If you just installed Linux right now you'll probably be using the Unity UI. It should look a bit like this,

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-SCQze0-rF1s/Tb_1K9WoBXI/AAAAAAAABQQ/4FtvDfC9Ofs/s1600/ubuntu-unity.png

However there are alternative UI s availible for Ubuntu that use more or less computing power by having more or less features.

Xfce is a lightweight desktop environment for ubuntu, so it cuts down on system overheads and should speed up your system.

I'm not sure but wubi may install xfce as an alternative by default. So log out of you account and when the login screen comes up click on the button that looks a bit like a sun thats to the right of your account name. A list should drop down and if xfce is in there then click on it and proceed to login and try out xfce to see if it improves your system speed.

If its not there then log back into your account and install xfce.

Instructions : http://www.linuxthebest.com/how-to-install-xfce-on-ubuntu-11-10/

That should explain a bit more about xfce and how to install it.

Hope this helps,
AL

Paqman
March 8th, 2012, 05:48 PM
Before changing the whole desktop environment, try using a more suitable one that you already have installed. Log out, click the cog by your username and select "Unity 2D". It should be a LOT better.

I run Unity 2D on a netbook with the same spec, and it's fine.

Paqman