PDA

View Full Version : Bash Script Help

Techscape
March 3rd, 2012, 09:39 AM
Ok, so I have been trying to create a script that takes the five largest files in my home directory and display them. I am a beginner and I am somewhat doing this from a book I bought, because, well, I just wanted to learn Linux because I have a massive interest in Apache. Figured I would learn how to walk before I could run!

This is what I currently have. When executed through the Linux terminal it pops up, why wouldn't this pop up when I would run the script (when I execute it just seems to echo it...:confused:)? Here it is:

find . -type f -exec ls -s {} \; | sort -n -r | head -5 > ~/fivelarge.txt

Obviously, it finds the files sorts them then places them into the text file. Question is, would this work, or would it be better to use something like:

du -h | head -5 | > ~/fivelarge.txt ? Would that work?

Thanks!

ofnuts
March 3rd, 2012, 09:45 AM
Ok, so I have been trying to create a script that takes the five largest files in my home directory and display them. I am a beginner and I am somewhat doing this from a book I bought, because, well, I just wanted to learn Linux because I have a massive interest in Apache. Figured I would learn how to walk before I could run!

This is what I currently have. When executed through the Linux terminal it pops up, why wouldn't this pop up when I would run the script (when I execute it just seems to echo it...:confused:)? Here it is:

find . -type f -exec ls -s {} \; | sort -n -r | head -5 > ~/fivelarge.txt

Obviously, it finds the files sorts them then places them into the text file. Question is, would this work, or would it be better to use something like:

du -h | head -5 | > ~/fivelarge.txt ? Would that work?

Thanks!
du does't sort natively by size, and "du -h" makes its output very difficult to sort by size. What you want is more like:

du * | sort -rn | head -5

Techscape
March 3rd, 2012, 01:05 PM