PDA

View Full Version : What's up with screen-resolution and Ubuntu?Needs to be fixed before ubuntu rules all

Osamabingandhi
June 9th, 2006, 11:17 PM
I've tried some more distros than ubuntu and what they have in common is screen-resolution trouble. The first thing an linux user need to fix is the screen resolution. That's where the trouble begins. I really believe a lot of people throw linux in the trashcan because of this! To write comands in the terminal will scare anyone especially when you are not sure what to write and what to do when you finally figure out how to do it. You have search the forums like a maniac and then trial and error.:confused: I broke my ubuntu by doing this! To make a new installation was not very funny.:cry:

How do you know what to write in safe mode to fix the xorg.conf? Ahhh i feel this frustration hanging over me and how easy it would have been for me to give up. When a total beginner is thrown into system modification on this level it's bad.

What i have understood is that linux systems only support up to 1024x768 resolutions. In this day of age most people have 1280x1024 on their monitors. And almost everyone needs to change the system settings! I can't believe that this isn't fixed yet. It seems like i should not be a impossible thing to correct.