PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu USB Unetbootin

Likeacupcake
February 25th, 2012, 05:07 AM
Hello, newbie here!

I'm trying to setup Ubuntu on a new build computer.

I had a few minutes looking over the BIOS system, just checking everything works, and noticed that boot priorities were disabled. However, that is not an issue, as it is defaulting to a USB I've set up using Unetbootin for a Ubuntu boot disk.

When I plug it into my laptop I get the auto-start asking me what I want to do, but when I boot my desktop and select either to boot from the USB or to install the system, the screen just goes black and appears to hang.

The screen remains black, but power is still active.

I'm looking to set the system up to boot from USB, not installing anything. Means I can have my pull harddrives in public space, and boot in any system I want to use.

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? Thanks for the help!

HeroOfCanton
February 25th, 2012, 05:34 AM
Could be a video driver problem since it's going blank when the GUI starts. Unity is heavy on 3D and sketchy with some video cards. Might want to try an older ubuntu (10.10 or older), or another distro like Lubuntu, Xubuntu, or Kubuntu (in order of light to heavy).

Likeacupcake
February 25th, 2012, 05:42 AM
I'm trying to set up 10.04_live.

Should I look at another version of Linux? Or just Ubuntu?

SuaSwe
February 25th, 2012, 06:42 AM
Are you already using Ubuntu on another machine? If so I'd suggest using the Startup USB creator - it's geared for Ubuntu so at least you'll know the USB drive is most likely OK. :)

If it persists, you could try the suggestion here (http://www.ubuntugeek.com/how-to-fix-ubuntu-10-04-lts-lucid-blank-screen-at-startup.html). I seem to recall having the same problem some time in the past, and setting quiet splash resolved it for me.

Likeacupcake
February 25th, 2012, 06:47 AM
Thanks for your help, but I've past that.