PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] ccd2iso



forrest898
February 23rd, 2012, 11:57 PM
i installed ccd2iso and when i put "ccd2iso myfile.img myfile.iso" into terminal andhit enter, it just skips to the next line and has a ">" on the left, how do i use this program correctly to just convert my .img?????

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 12:00 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums!

How big is your image?

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:02 AM
736.8 mb

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 12:04 AM
My guess is that the > is showing that the computer is processing the .img container to convert it to the .iso container. How long did you leave the terminal running after you executed the command.

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:05 AM
a minute or two... i got kind of impatient because i didnt think it was working...

sffvba[e0rt
February 24th, 2012, 12:06 AM
From what I can find on ccd2iso you are using it correctly (the only thing I might add you can make sure of is that you are indeed in the correct directory when you excecute the command and that you have all the needed read-write access etc. in it).

A hack you can try is to simply rename the file from .img to .iso... works for some.


404

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 12:06 AM
I believe it takes a while to convert the file container especially with a large file like that. Can you rerun the tool for longer, and can you post what processor you have in your computer.

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:25 AM
tried to just rename to iso, it was no good.
i left the tool running for some time(15-20minutes) and the ">" did not change or complete
i have an AMD Athlon II X4 965

jacob.david
February 24th, 2012, 12:31 AM
Just a trivial one though. The > indicates the second prompt (PS2) i.e. the OS expects more to execute the command. Do you have any unclosed quotes are something like that. If you press another enter it will display another > in this case until you complete the command correctly. Do you have any unfinished quotes etc.?
Sorry if you already know about this.

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:33 AM
i did not know that (still very new to unix...) but i do not believe that i have any unclosed things in my code

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:39 AM
now something different happens,
when i try it i get this:

forrest@ForrestsUbuntuPartition:~$ ccd2iso /home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/sc4d2.img
/home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/sc4d2.iso
Unknown option: /home/forrest/ISOs/cd2/sc4d2.img
/home/forrest/ISOs/cd2/sc4d2.iso !

xumuk37
February 24th, 2012, 12:48 AM
try to put different name to second file, i.e.
ccd2iso /home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/sc4d2.img
/home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/2sc4d2.iso

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 12:50 AM
received the same error message

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 12:54 AM
Just a trivial one though. The > indicates the second prompt (PS2) i.e. the OS expects more to execute the command. Do you have any unclosed quotes are something like that. If you press another enter it will display another > in this case until you complete the command correctly. Do you have any unfinished quotes etc.?
Sorry if you already know about this.

Doesn't it also stand for loading? To me it looks like he got it all perfect with the command so I discarded that idea.

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 01:00 AM
now something different happens,
when i try it i get this:

forrest@ForrestsUbuntuPartition:~$ ccd2iso /home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/sc4d2.img
/home/forrest/ISO's/cd2/sc4d2.iso
Unknown option: /home/forrest/ISOs/cd2/sc4d2.img
/home/forrest/ISOs/cd2/sc4d2.iso !

Do the following commands and post any error messages you get:


cd /home/forrest/ISO's/cd2
ccd2iso sc4d2.img 2sc4d2.iso

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 01:17 AM
i did exactly that and only came up with the ">" no error messages just the ">"

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 01:20 AM
Try this:


cd /home/forrest/ISO's/cd2
ccd2iso "sc4d2.img" "2sc4d2.iso"

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 01:23 AM
still just that same symbol....

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 01:26 AM
What kind of img file are you converting?

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 01:27 AM
its a game

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 01:50 AM
Did you use CloneCD to get the .img file

forrest898
February 24th, 2012, 01:56 AM
no...
I just used a program called AcetoneISO to convert the image, problem solved.
Thanks for your help though!

alegomaster
February 24th, 2012, 01:57 AM
Can you please use the thread tool to mark this as solved it is on the top right of the thread when you are in it.