PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] basic learn

ramakanta
February 23rd, 2012, 02:56 PM
i am new to the linux .
kindly learn me the basic command line used in ubuntu in daily life with simple example as i am beginner. and learn the basic of ubuntu like wise basic in windows OS that i have learn in a institute.
thank you.

:confused:

Tony Flury
February 23rd, 2012, 03:09 PM
What do you actually think you need to do via the command terminal ? For the most part (assuming you have Ubuntu) most of what you need to do can be done via graphical tools.

If you want to use the command line - then Linux comes with man pages so you can type in :

man <command>

To get hold of the instruction manual for that command.

To my mind - initial useful commands are (in no particular order):

ls - list files in a directory
cd - Change current directory
cat - list contents of a file
mkdir - create a new directory
cp - copy a file from one place to another
mv - move a file
rm - remove a file/directory
grep - find stuff in one or more files
ps - see what processes are running
top - see what processes are using most cpu/memory
mount - connect to other file devices
gedit - Edit a text file
sudo - temporarily promote yourself to admin priveleges (so you can edit priveleged files - use with caution)
chmod - change the permission of a file (use with caution)

centaurusa
February 23rd, 2012, 03:16 PM
kindly learn me the basic command line used in ubuntu in daily life

I would suggest the Ubuntu manual "Getting Started with Ubuntu 10.10" as a starting point. This will provide a lot of basic information on how to use Ubuntu Linux.

See: http://ubuntu-manual.org/

cortman
February 23rd, 2012, 03:18 PM
If what you're asking for is resources to learn the GNU/Linux command line, the sticky thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1909108) at the top of this forum should get you started.

sunfromhere
February 23rd, 2012, 11:07 PM
If you're a beginner like me, I would suggest the following: