PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen goes blank on startup after using nomodeset to install

graydon77222
February 6th, 2012, 12:16 AM
Hi I am new to Linux and I wanted to use my laptop to try Linux out full-time when I am not at home since I only use my laptop for note taking and some light coding.

So I downloaded the install files and when I went to install the screen seemed to turn off. So I looked on-line to see if I could locate a fix to my problem. Eventually I found that pressing shift at the install let me use a nomodeset option which made the screen work and I was able to install. But when I reset the computer at the end of the ubuntu 11.10 install the screen wouldn't work again. So I went searching and found I could edit a grub file and put nomodeset in the spot where quite splash or something was located, but this didnt seem to work.

I have now resorted for asking for help in my own thread, and would appreciate any help I could get.

Here is a link to my specific laptop model: http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/en/ho/WF06b/321957-321957-3329744-64354-64354-5082212-5170080.html?dnr=1

mastergkage
February 6th, 2012, 07:17 AM
Suaswe give me this installation advice when i encounter the same problem as yours I hope this works on you too

1. boot into a LiveCD/USB environment and opt for Try Ubuntu
2. once in the live desktop environment, go to Terminal and type in

Code:
sudo rm /usr/lib/ubiquity/apt-setup/generators/40cdrom

3. click Install Ubuntu and run through the install as normal

then after the restart everything went well

graydon77222
February 6th, 2012, 06:04 PM
I tried to do that but when I pressed try ubuntu the screen went blank. And then when I tried to do try ubuntu with nomodeset it brought me to some black command line screen. And on this screen I typed your thing in, but since I was stuck on this screen I had no way to install.

2F4U
February 6th, 2012, 06:13 PM
Did you run

sudo update-grub